S.N.I.T. – Student Nurse In Training











{October 21, 2015}   My Journey Begins

So, after numerous pre-requisite courses and sitting on a waiting list for about 2 years, I am set to start the nursing program at Pima Community College in January 2016.

I attended the mandatory orientation earlier this month. We met the dean of the program along with a couple of administrators and were given a lot of information regarding what we needed to complete prior to starting school. Prior to the orientation I had to go get fingerprinted so I could apply for my fingerprint clearance card with the state police. AND it takes an average of 4-6 weeks to get the application proceessed provided no “additional research” is needed. Meaning you don’t have anything in your criminal history – considering I have worked almost my entire adult life in a law enforcement or prosecution office I am happy to say that I don’t anticipate having any problems getting my card.

I also had to work on getting all of my vaccinations they require done by the end of November. The problem I may have is with my Hep B series because I will only have two of the three shots completed before January 1, 2016. The third shot will not be administered until March, well into the semester. I’m worried about it – I have to wait at least 4 weeks from today to take another titer test to see if my immunity levels are high enough to get a pass. Keeping my fingers crossed on that one.

I also have to schedule and complete the CPR class for health care providers as well as getting a physical done. I’ve scheduled the physical with a local Concentra clinic on the recommendation of the dean. The drawback? It’s going to cost me $66.00 out of pocket. My insurance is covering the vaccinations but not the physical.

There’s a whole checklist of things we have to do before lthe end of the year. And we were told in Orientation that if we failed to provide all the necessary information and complete all of these tasks we risk getting dropped from the program and having to re-apply under the new competititve system. Thought the dean did mention a couple of times that we’d get moved to the Fall semester – he didn’t say And while I’m excited about the upcoming semester, I”m also nervous about the amount of studying that is going to be needed to learn the material.

It’s going to be a journey!

student nurse1

Leave a Reply

et cetera
